Trinity College Honors 27 Outstanding Students with Awards and Scholarships

May 7, 2021
[gallery size="full" ids="431,428,429"] As the spring semester comes to a close, 27 Trinity College students met in the chapel on  May 5 to receive honors, awards, and scholarships for their outstanding achievements in many categories ranging from excellence in academics to excellence in racial reconciliation. Among these was the notable Lincoln Laureate Scholarship, which is awarded to one senior at each college in Illinois. Recipients are honored for their leadership and service in the pursuit of the betterment of humanity and for overall excellence in curricular and extracurricular activities. Justin Chu received the award at Trinity.  President Nicholas Perrin presented four awards, the first being the Lincoln Laureate. Next went to Miranda Barton who received the Outstanding Senior Award. Senior Grace Elliot was then presented with the President’s Award. Perrin also presented the Frederic D. and Dorothy C. Vechery Christian College Consortium Scholarship to Jose Rodriguez. The faculty of each department at Trinity also had the opportunity to award their respective honorees with their awards. Here is the list of honorees according to their department: Specific Awards: Gwendolyn N. Voss Memorial Scholarship - Sarah Schlagel James N. Lew Memorial Scholarship - Happiness Campo James N. Lew Memorial Scholarship - Jeremy Young  Business: Academic Distinction in Business - James Fernandes Academic Distinction in Business - Shayla Soltelo Diana Hauser Grell Memorial Award - Louisa Schmidt Outstanding Graduate in Business - Miranda Barton Education: Stanley Bristol Memorial Award for Educational Excellence - Nicole Buschek English: Doris Roethlisberger prize - Evalyn Black Williams Award for best honors contract - Anna Skrzypchak Graphic Design: Brandon Waybright Innovative Making Award - Lauren Henn Brandon Waybright Innovative Making Award - Shayla Soltelo History: History Student of the Year - Amanda Juhlin  Music: Wind Ensemble Member of the Year - Sarah Damianov Choir member of the Year - Ruth Santiago Science: Biology/Pre-Physican's Assistant Student of the Year - Isabel Lane Freshmen Biology Award - Seth Rieske CRC Freshmen Chemistry Award - Daniela Lopez Double Helix Award - Lorenzano Blakeney Platinum Test Tube Award - Lorenzano Blakeney Exercise Science Student of the Year - Hope McDowell Sports and Wellness Major of the Year - Dominik Olech Peter Lu Memorial Science Scholarship - Alicia Carlson Peter Lu Memorial Science Scholarship - Caroline Smith Outstanding Research Scientist - Lauren Sayler Student Life: Bruce Fields Racial Reconciliation Award - Carl Edmondson